Mark "Marty" Rathbun caught lying again

“ I NEVER PUT A MARK ON ANYBODY.”    Marty Rathbun to the SP Times 2009

OH REALLY?
REMEMBER THE LOUISVILLE SLUGGER?

“ I created an operating climate of fear… I put on a tough-guy beingness, unfriendly, suspicious and menacing virtually everywhere I went… I was snappy with people in general. I went around with a scowl like I was ready to knock anybody ‘‘s block off who made a wrong move [and I did].” – Mark “Marty” Rathbun

So everyone knows, I know this nut.

What I write is factual and true. I know for I was the recipient of his wrath and psychosis!

I have known Rathbun since 1991. I have had very few encounters with him.  However, I have experienced uncontrolled wrath and violence as well as more insidious, covert defamation of my character and self-respect. While I have heard from others that they have had similar experiences, I am confining my account to my personal own observations.

In 1996, Rathbun administered a religious confessional to me in preparation for me to move to a higher post. He wanted to see if I was involved with some other persons who had been found to have altered LRH administrative policy whom I had once worked with.

While there was no outbreak of uncontrolled wrath at that time nor visible violation of standard technology, after he completed the confessional, he took what I had confessed to and embellished what I had done, making it seem like I had been trying to create a major schism within the Church. He had me sequestered off any post for 4 months, when, in fact, what I had confessed to was that I had a disagreement with another Church staff member at that time, Tom DeVocht.  Marty Rathbun was protecting Tom and would not hear my explanation of Tom’s alteration of Church policy.

My next encounter with Rathbun was a few months later in early 1997. I was then in a position in CSI of evaluating the progress of Churches and of other situations, and so I submitted a recommended program for a major Church organization, which was, admittedly, not adequate.

Rathbun came on the scene when alerted to this incorrect evaluation. But instead of regular corrective procedures, he confronted me sternly on what I had done. While I admitted wrong-doing, his attitude was that this admission was just an attempt to keep him from finding what I was  ‘‘really doing,” and so he interrogated me at length as to what I was up to. He screamed and attempted to intimidate me by waving a baseball bat around and slamming it on a file cabinet just inches away from me with the seeming intent to scare the daylights out of me into some sort of confession. He is much larger than me physically (I am 5’ 7” and he is over 6 feet tall.) 

As that didn’t  “work,” he took me into a private room, the door shut and more intimately questioned me to get to the bottom of this situation and get a confession as to what I was up to, accusing me of dark secrets. He did this, however in total violation of the code of conduct of confessional procedure, including the fact that I had had little sleep the night before, this being a violation to do any such questioning late at night and with no sleep.  He badgered and intimidated me, threatened me for over an hour until he got what he seemed to want: I ended up in a breakdown of utter sobbing. He was satisfied with his  result  and told me to re-do my recommended program.

By any Scientology code of conduct, the very things he was accusing me of (suppression of organizations for own benefit or unethical purpose) was exactly what he was living: using his position to intimidate and crush persons who were trying to get something done. His attitude and demeanor took me by surprise as never in my entire career on staff since 1970 had I ever been threatened physically or subjected to intimidation and there is nothing remotely in the writing of LRH that resembles any part of this. The insidious part is that all the while he was pretending to be an authorized top official of the Church, thus misusing his power to violate the very technical rules the Church is built on.

My next dealing with Rathbun was nearly two years later. In that time period I had succeeded well enough on doing evaluations and programs for Churches, that the executive strata of CSI promoted me to a high position, Establishment Executive International.  While I did not succeed on that position, Mr. Miscavige, just before leaving for some months, had simply asked me what I wanted to do now and to work it out.

While awaiting my new assignment, Mark Rathbun returned to where I was situated (I had not seen him for some time) and came to see me. He told me I would be getting a confessional and that I better cooperate.  Rathbun had me receive a counseling session, doing a specific type of confessional procedure that resolves why a person would repeatedly commit non-survival or destructive actions.

To deliver this session was one of the highest technically trained persons in the world, his usual post being the Senior Case Supervisor of the Flag Land Base. I was given no reason by Rathbun as to why this auditor was chosen to do this action but I was excited at the prospect of resolving my difficulties on holding posts successfully.

The session I had was utterly revitalizing, with the exact type of result L. Ron Hubbard gives in his bulletins and in technical films.  I felt ready to take on a new post whatever that might be and face whatever I needed to make good on and get on with it. I clearly had a major change and shift of attitude in the session, not displaying any case phenomena that would indicate I was not being straight or honest or being irresponsible.

However, out of the blue, some hours after the session, instead of doing a standard follow-up procedure to take responsibility for making good for any actual damage done to the group, Rathbun confronted me with the huge ramifications or some such wording of what I had done to suppress the Church. I was completely taken aback as it was utterly different than what I had just communicated in the session and was expecting a much different response.

Similar to the previous scenarios with Rathbun, he embellished and exaggerated what I had confessed to doing and made it into a hideous criminal act.  Specifically, he claimed that in my confessing, I had displayed some morose disappointment on having failed on my last post (to one other staff member), that this was tantamount to a mutinous propaganda campaign and that I was an incorrigible saboteur. He alluded to the fact that what he got was straight from the session report from the highly qualified auditor, which served to support his view of what had happened. This was a covert twist and use of  ‘‘truth” to crush any idea that I had, that I had taken any responsibility for my actions and thus I needed to be dealt with in a heavy-handed manner like a criminal.

Rathbun shoved me several times saying  ‘‘we now know where you’re at,” he grabbed me by the shirt, shoved me against the wall and then kicked me in the backside (not painful but humiliating). He then instructed I be given the severest ethics actions of the Church, the administrative handling steps for someone who has committed suppressive acts against the Church and dragged me off to another building.

During the time of this last incident with Rathbun, Mr. Miscavige was not at or near CSI headquarters. Many months later, when it came to Mr. Miscavige’s attention that there were several staff, myself amongst them, who were not assigned to any post, he instructed that this be remedied and I shortly after was reinstated on a post.

A Staff Member

16 responses to “Mark "Marty" Rathbun caught lying again

  1. In all his blobs [sic], Marty Rathbun has never announced that he had a side business as a deprogrammer. I guess that didn’t fit with the new image he was trying to build. However, he likes to position himself with famous people – I guess he has not yet found his true valence – such as Dr. Martin Luther King.

    In April 2009, Marty Rathbun aided and abetted an attempted deprogramming of a Scientologist. He conspired and helped plan to have a Church staff member tricked, with the purpose of turning her against her religious beliefs and the Church. This attempted deprogramming failed miserably and the staff member returned and detailed the entire episode, including having traced down and exposed the involvement of Marty Rathbun in setting it up the whole operation.

    When some other squirrels and hang-on “folks” found out, Rathbun lost some of his lucrative hero-worshiping. It also didn’t go over well with some others, who dropped Rathbun like a rattlesnake.

    Word leaked out how the deprogramming went down and the behind the scene manipulation and supervision by Rathbun. This didn’t go over too well with some of his angels (donators and financiers), so Rathbun shut down the deprogramming business real fast. Rumor has it that Mike Rinder advised him to close down before the press get wind of this.

    It is reported that some of the Anonymous contingency felt insulted by Rathbun’s masquerade of himself as an “invisible” 3rd party,” hiding behind the bushes and behind the façade of a peace-loving man of God bringing back his children back into his fold. Right.

    It’s sick the scam that this guy is trying to pull.

    Deprogrammers are like Dementors. In fact, they are Dementors.

  2. I received a message from Silvia Kusada, one of Marty Rathbun’s pawns.

    She is spouting a script given to her by Marty.

    She has no idea of what she is talking about other than robotically spewing Marty’s party line.

    Kusada just strikes me as a motivatorish victim, that’s why she likes Marty because he will never pull what’s behind those motivators. Therefore, she will continue motivating for the rest of her life.

    She didn’t understand one bit of how things works though she claims to be “highly” trained. I certainly would not like to be one of her PCs.

  3. Rathbun is fighting long-dead enemies, and using the methods they used to defeat him on others in present time. Now he thinks that the Church he was unable to bring down is the Roman Legion from some long, lost incident.

    • Exactly. I looked up the LRH reference I believe you are referring to. It’s from “The Anti-Social Personality, The Anti-Scientologist”, the Section is “The Basic Reason” on pg 181 of the Introduction to Scientology Ethics book.

      “The basic reason the Anti-Social Personality behaves as he or she does lies in a hidden terror of others.

      “To such a person, every other being is an enemy, an enemy to be covertly or overtly destroyed.

      “The fixation is that survival itself depends on ‘keeping others down’ or ‘keeping people ignorant.’

      “If anyone were to promise to make others stronger or brighter, the Anti-Social Personality suffers the utmost agony of personal danger.

      “They reason that if they are in this much trouble with people around them weak or stupid, they would perish should anyone become strong or bright….”

      And there is much more, all well worth reading or reveiwing in a new unit of time for anyone who visits this site.

  4. A Kevin Mackey wrote me stating that Marty has the Church of Scientology worried.

    Kevin must be as blind as a bat. While Marty and his insignificant little crowd of squirrels are running around the cage spinning the wheel, Scientology has been very busy expanding and opening new Ideal Orgs.

    Nice try Kevin. Now go back to your squirrel master and get a new script.

  5. Obviously Kevin is worried, and Rathbun, too. Rathbun’s admissions are full of worry. Kevin’s probably worried that he’s made the wrong choice and Rathbun is just another loser. Worry, worry, worry.

    “You can discover what your enemy fears most by observing the means he uses to frighten you.”
    Eric Hoffer (1902 – 1983)

    • Excellent point. And we are all supposed to be frightened of Kevin’s master, Marty. Fear is the emotional level these guys *rise* to.

  6. Well, he’s just another David Mayo, isn’t he? They do enormous damage, waste valuable resources, then when they get caught out they skip town and resurface with an “auditing” practice of their own. A few former Scientologists (who are “former” because they have huge out-ethics situations going on) will flock to Marty’s door, but a few years from now when their money is gone, and they too have been beaten into the ground with that Louisville Slugger Marty calls “treatment”, Marty will disappear again. And the next time he resurfaces he’ll be a cook in a diner somewhere, busy poisoning all the customers.

    • LOL! Oh how true that is, Ellwyn. I remember sitting in a restaurant one day and seeing an SP like Marty, who 20 years ago wreaked havoc on orgs for a time then blew, unhappily waiting tables. I couldn’t help but smile. Then I found another restaurant!

  7. For me, this quote really says it all. When you understand the simple device that guys like Marty use to deflect scrutiny into their own brutal actions and vicious intentions, they become very easy to understand – and avoid:

    “By any Scientology code of conduct, the very things he was accusing me of (suppression of organizations for own benefit or unethical purpose) was exactly what he was living: using his position to intimidate and crush persons who were trying to get something done. His attitude and demeanor took me by surprise as never in my entire career on staff since 1970 had I ever been threatened physically or subjected to intimidation and there is nothing remotely in the writing of LRH that resembles any part of this. The insidious part is that all the while he was pretending to be an authorized top official of the Church, thus misusing his power to violate the very technical rules the Church is built on.”

  8. Pingback: Mark “Marty” Rathbun caught lying again « Marty Rathbun Index

  9. “He did this, however in total violation of the code of conduct of confessional procedure…”

    Rathbun has committed so many crimes, that he can’t even conceive of correct procedure. He’s dug himself so deep into a moral pit, that he can’t even see daylight anymore.

  10. Squirrelrathbun is an appropriate name for this blog. Rathbun alters and squirrels everything he gets involved in whether it’s Administration or Tech.

    Did he ever do anything straightforward or honest?

  11. Pingback: Mark “Marty” Rathbun caught lying again « Mark "Marty" Rathbun

Discuss Mark Marty Rathbun

