The Bag Carrier

Mark Rathbun the bag carrier

THE BAG CARRIER

By Marty Ratbum

Few appreciate the pivotal role I played in the negotiations which ultimately led to full religious recognition and exemption for the Churches of Scientology in the United States. Without me, it just wouldn’t have happened.

I carried the bags. In fact I was the chief bag carrier. I also imbued the meetings with my warm personality and, at times, even spoke – such unforgettable lines as: “do you take cream and sugar with your coffee?” or “Nice to see you again and thank you for meeting with us.”

In fact, I would say that I established the ambience and tone which led to the successful conclusion.

Others had lesser roles, such as the actual negotiations by David Miscavige, or preparation of the largest administrative record in history prepared by backlines staff. That really wasn’t the point and I didn’t even have to read the submissions or prepare for the negotiations.

I knew my role as Chief Bag Carrier (CBC) would carry the day.

Each and every time on major situations, COB has had to intervene to clean up wars I had exacerbated. For example, left to my own devices in handling IRS litigation, the end result would undoubtedly have been no exemption, a billion dollar tax bill, and possible shutting down of the Church. I have developed a slick false PR technique of positioning myself as having been integral in handling threats during and after the fact, when they are actually terminatedly handled by COB. By calculation I have lost the Church 43 million dollars on losses and expenses that could have been avoided.” – Mark Rathbun

“If you don’t believe it, talk to a field mouse some day. Talk to a field mouse about the ways of Man. It might be a very entertaining conversation, if you could talk to him. And there, man, you would find arrogance. Electronics, nuclear physics – he’s never heard of them, but he knows all about them.”— LRH

Discuss Mark Marty Rathbun

