Scientology trademarks and copyrights

SCIENTOLOGY TRADEMARKS AND COPYRIGHTS – A LEARNED PONTIFICATION

By Marty Ratbum

If you want to talk to an expert on trademarks and copyrights, talk to me. I know all about the subject. For years it was my job to protect the Scientology trademarks and copyrights against would-be infringers. Of course, like everything else I did during that time, I left the actual work to lawyers and lower level staff—the riffraff.

I have long known that the purpose of trademarks is to protect the public against counterfeits, knock-offs or shoddy substitutes – that when someone buys a product bearing a trademarked word or symbol he knows its source and the company that stands behind it. It’s also sort of a goodwill thing.

But, hey, there is a market for $50 Rolexes and for squirrel auditing. Not everyone wants to subject themselves to the high ethics and standard delivery of Scientology. Not everyone wants the brass ring of total freedom. What they want is to have their cases validated in the here and now – to make themselves right and others wrong, to dominate others and escape domination, that sort of thing. Such people come to squirrels like me who can really deliver.

In my view, first LRH and now David Miscavige are fanatics on the subject of trademarks. Unlike me, they want only standard tech delivered by licensed people and organizations. They have the narrow-minded view that there is only one tech and that is standard tech.

I think that goes a bit far. I prefer a looser, free-thinking approach where I can develop my own methods and technology. Of course what I’m doing is trying to help ex-Scientologists feel better about leaving the Church and ease their transition to wogdom. I pull ARC breaks and wrong indications by the ton, till the guy realizes what an adverse effect he has been and experiences the true joys of irresponsibility. Kinda like the resurgence someone experiences when they decide that a god is to blame for everything, especially the bad things they have done. None of this remorse and having to change type stuff.

But back to trademarks – these are things like LRH’s name and initials, the eight pointed cross, the S and double triangle – all of which are legally registered.

I personally don’t use any Scientology trademarks. As I said, I am a free thinker and I don’t need to because I have such a magnetic personality that people just come to me. My experience is that ex-Scientologists are critical, out-ethics and want someone with mutual out-ruds, and that’s why I have such a thriving business. I’m now averaging one customer every few weeks. All I have to solve now is how to get some repeat business.

Well, enough digression. The other thing LRH wanted was to protect the Scientology materials from misuse or theft. This has to do with copyrights – which protect the written and spoken words. Every book, issue or lecture LRH ever wrote or gave is copyrighted. This prevents people from plagiarizing or publishing them without permission.

That is not a problem for someone like me. I have my own ideas and don’t want to be straight-jacketed by those parts of Hubbard’s work I disagree with. It just isn’t my thing to pirate copyrighted materials. Whenever I write something, you can rest assured it is pure Ratbum.

So that’s my synopsis of trademarks and copyrights in Scientology. Free thinkers like myself ignore them because what I do can hardly be called Dianetics and Scientology. I cater to a public who doesn’t want the real thing so it is a perfect fit: nattery pcs who don’t want to get off their withholds, and a good, solid squirrel auditor who isn’t about to pull them anyway.

Leave trademark and copyright licenses to those who subscribe to the narrow path mandated by LRH.

That’s not my bag.

I tried to keep this dissertation simple. But if there is anybody who found this over their head or has a question, please address it to me and I’ll do my best to guide you through this legal maze.

“I don’t see eye to eye with Hubbard’s view that dialectic materialism is a fallacy.” – Mark Rathbun, 10 February 2009

“This final bit is added not out of any pride or conceit or bid for loyalty. It has been consistently observed by many observers that when a place seems to be critical of or in disagreement with Ron or cool toward his plans, the public falls rapidly away. No squirrel has ever survived. Treat a bust or a personal office of mine with disrespect and the public falls away. Apologize for my policies and the public stays off in droves. There’s nothing of superstition about this. The public wants Scientology, Ron’s brand and they don’t buy other brands. In thirteen years, every squirrel or disaffected or critical office has miserably failed.” – LRH, HCO PL 27 December 1963

Discuss Mark Marty Rathbun

